The story of the Blue Swallow Motel began when Carpenter W.A. Huggins purchased lots on March 29th, 1939 and began construction.Huggins Business CardThe Blue Swallow Court, as it was originally called, was open and operating with ten rooms sometime in 1940. Mr. and Mrs. Huggins operated both the motor court and a cafe on the site. Ted Jones, a prominent eastern New Mexico rancher, was the first long-term owner operator. Facing Route 66, the Blue Swallow offers access to motorists from both the highway and a side street. The motel has an L-shaped plan and consists of 12 units (two more were added by approximately 1948) with a centrally-located office and manager's residence. Garage units, some with original wood overhead doors, are located between the sleeping units. With its pink stucco walls decorated with shell designs and a stepped parapet, the façade reflects a modest use of the Southwest Vernacular style of architecture.
|